Some People Seek Happiness, Others Create It – Psilocybin Mushrooms.

Creating Awareness

The case of Eden was lifted and nature revealed its plentiful secrets to the three of us as we undertook our first ever dose of psilocybin mushrooms.

After a relaxing morning of lazing around in the sun and cooking up a hearty breakfast we prepared ourselves for an exciting and daunting prospect; the unknown. They say that a mushroom trip is dependent on at least two things; those with whom you would undertake the experience and the mood of yourself. Considering I was embarking upon this journey with two very close and soulful friends I wasn’t really worried about becoming paranoid but I was slightly concerned about my own state of mind. There’d been a throbbing of unrelated anxiety pulsing in my stomach all day and I didn’t want to launch the carriage with one foot still left on the pavement.

I prepared myself as well as I could, talking to those around me, breathing slowly and softly and generally bringing myself into a comfortable state of mind. We sat around the camping table, all strewn with the various detritus typical of young campers and separated the modest two grams of mushrooms into three piles. With shifty yet colourful glances around the table we started to eat the contents of our pile. I’ve read that many people find the taste unpleasant but I couldn’t disagree more. While they do taste slightly earthy, a bit like soil, they weren’t exactly a chore to gobble down and compared to my expectations they were lovely.

We started playing cards for a while and after about half an hour the unexpected giggles came upon us. The ordinary jokes became magnified in the apprehension of the situation and Matt and I clutched at our sides in laughter for several minutes before deciding that we we’re probably starting our experience. I kept looking around for funny colours or maybe even heat hazes. I didn’t expect to see aliens riding camels across the crest of the Milky Way or anything because I knew we’d shared a fairly low dose but I also didn’t expect the experience to be so subtle.

We started walking around the enclosed meadow that was our empty campsite, studying the engrained lines left by the grass cutter a couple of days earlier; curving their way up towards the tree line. My initial euphoria left me at this point and I noticed how uncomfortable I felt. A slight change had occurred and I didn’t know if I was going to like this at all. We walked across the meadow and down to a small bridge linking the enclosed area to the rest of the campsite. My legs felt slightly shaky, almost like they do after a great amount of exertion or when you wake up and try to walk after a heavy night on the sauce.

Matt started to laugh again but not the out of control laughter of fifteen minutes earlier, he started to notice how amazing ordinary natural phenomena were. “Wow! Look at the way the waters rippling!” I felt anxious and uneasy. Did I really want to do this? I felt like I should go back to the tent and lie down and try to sleep until it was all over. I could feel it coming on and noticed how different things we’re becoming. Though things we’re becoming clearer other things became slightly blurred around the edges when I focused on them. We walked across the meadow and Suraj noticed a squirrel jumping between the branches of the trees. This would later be linked to the stories of Lewis Carol, as we too would chase down the rabbit hole; though our rabbit was slightly more nimble but definitely as elusive.

I led down on the ground, echoing the words of Terrence McKenna, “I don’t think I’m going to meet this one standing up” and suddenly felt how comfortable everything had become all of a sudden. I had bleached into the ground and it had accepted me like a friend. My neck became very warm and pleasant and the sky began to show the edges of its swirling mystery. I noticed the midges flying high above but also these flying and flitting white dots that I had never noticed there before. We’re they real, we’re they actually there and could I only see them with the aid of this pharmacological agent? They say visual acuity is increased substantially through low doses of mushrooms so maybe they are just smaller entities that we can’t see with the unaided eye. In my eyes they formed into runic symbols and enclosed circles and I suddenly saw the wonder of this drug.

Matt led down near me and shared the experience. I decided that I would lie here for the whole duration and revel in this wonderful world. However Suraj was tracking down our squirrel. Matt followed his investigation and after a gentle prod in the back from my guiding force I followed to the deep bed that led to our stream. Sitting on the hard and sloping soil I began to laugh. How amazing was this experience. It was such a true experience, why didn’t everyone do this.

“This is the just the most blissful, excellent drug and I want to try to transmit this experience to somebody I  love and who would never think of doing it because their perceptions have been taught to them by TV and government, because this is beautiful”

Could I convince my family, my girlfriend, other friends, co-workers to do this? I still don’t really understand why this magical fungus is illegal. I felt nothing but positive vibrations and the oneness of the living earth all around me. Nature was showing us her ubiquitous glory and here in the English countryside I uncovered her fluttering wings and iridescent charms. I felt i didn’t have to say anything, i felt invigorated, fresh and cleansed all at once and I sighed in awe at least a thousand times a minute, or so it seemed to me.

We walked across the edge of the enclosed stream, out of sight from the campsite, shrouded by trees and lowered from the ground by a slope that was sufficient enough to surprise me in the discovery that I was only a few metres away from the place where I was worrying several minutes ago. We walked across what seemed a natural path but what were in fact the roots of the trees surrounding the flowing stream. It felt so right that we follow this to a natural kind of conclusion. I suddenly recovered the innocent adventure of childhood, the beautiful freedom of exploring nature’s backwaters. I laughed in short bursts, grinning from ear to ear and jumping across from side to side of the streams verge. We laughed at each other, all three of us experiencing this beautiful thing at once, to the detail. We marvelled at the shapes the water made as it chugged its steady way down stream, bulking here and thinning there; bobbing like rapids before splitting itself over uneven ground. I cupped the water in my hands and was surprised at the cold temperature, crouching there and swirling my hands across the top of its flowing surface and then gripping my knees and rocking gently forwards and backwards in awe.

We made our way up the stream in a lucid dream world lost to adults in the daily mire of the material world. I felt all at once how nature was interconnected, it all made sense as I thought of the trickles branching to stream and the streams leading to rivers and how two rivers confluence together and make their way towards the big sea, being picking up by the sun and falling again from clouds. How the water feeds the plants and how the plants feed the air and create the food for animals. How that massive cycle so easily explained by scientists was more than an ecosystem or a natural phenomenon; it was Gaia. We were all at one with nature, one big breath in the natural mind. The entire world was alive and the energy that was everywhere around me was of one living organism, one truly connected mind, not competing at all but co-operating for mutual survival. Our segment of that world was reaching for us that day, showing us her working glories and her truly complicated beauties.

Each leaf amazed us as we made our way up from the bed of the stream and back onto land, crossing a little bridge and making our way into a charming little wooded area. Every branch spoke of life and brought us towards it with a power indescribable.  Matt picked up an ivy twig and studied each of its tripled pointed leaves like shards of green metal, pointing out like blades but as light to the touch as ever. “It’s nice to be close to nature” I can hear matt say, occasionally laughing his characteristic giggle, open eyes in awe under his trapper hat. Suraj led us down a path clotted with hanging brambles, his careful feet picking their way across the ground and our opened eyes noticing how every bramble or thistle wasn’t looming or an obstacle but nature trying to say “look at me”, those thin and slender branches hanging down from trees across the thin little tracks we followed through the wood we’re tendrils of natures open arms.

“I think mushrooms are like the welcoming pad”,

I said feeling how we we’ve all just been waiting to come back to the garden we left behind so long ago; before childbirth, before the womb; before past lives. This ecstasy belongs to another age of man than the one we have lived with our petty fears and worldly ties and we we’re discovering it again.

Certain preconceptions need to be revisited. Magic mushrooms have been proven to help in the fight against mental illnesses that our current medical systems (and those business interest that influence them) have no prerogative to solve. Modern medicine and modern drugs do not attempt to cure, that would be unprofitable. Drugs companies would not be able to make a continued profit if they could actually cure people of maladies…The idea is to keep us as blind, half-sick, obedient consumers, buying the un-natural drugs which do not even attempt to cure, keeping us dependent on them until the last.

Returning to nature with psilocybin, (magic mushrooms, freaky fungi or whatever you want to call them) while teaching us a great many things about our true natures that the new world order would not want, also helps cure anxiety, depression and forms of OCD. Having suffered with bouts of all three of these disorders it is refreshing to feel that nature has its own way of helping us and that it truly can.

For a couple of weeks after my first mushroom trip i felt enlivened. My ego had been diminished, i felt more at one with the world and i tried (and this way easy) to be kind to everyone and respectful of their differences of opinion. Naturally the world caught up with me, this world that does nothing but diminish the natural order and balance that we would find in ourselves if we only chose to seek it.

Think Differently. Psilocybin does has positive effects.

For more information on the beneficial nature of mushrooms in public articles visit:

http://www.medscape.com/viewarticle/727438

http://www.zmescience.com/medicine/magic-mushrooms-can-treat-depression-anxiety-and-addiction-study-shows-1243244/

http://www.myhealthnewsdaily.com/1386-mushroom-hallucinogen-well-being-anxiety-depression.html

Also check out the views of Terrence McKenna, Bill Hicks and Pretty much every decent musician for more info on the benefits of certain “natural” drugs.

